Protecting your privacy

Protecting your privacy

Statistics Canada places the highest priority on protecting your privacy, as well as maintaining the confidentiality and security of completed questionnaires. Your answers are collected under the authority of the Statistics Act and are kept strictly confidential.

Only Statistics Canada employees with a need to know and whose job requires them to work with the questionnaires see individual completed questionnaires—and they all are subject to the confidentiality provisions of the Statistics Act. All Statistics Canada employees take an oath of secrecy, which is in effect for life—even after employment has ended.

No one outside Statistics Canada has access to any individual information obtained through the census. Private contractors do not have access to confidential data, and no information that could be used to identify respondents will ever be provided to other departments or agencies.

Security of the online questionnaire

Statistics Canada takes the protection of confidential information provided online seriously. A secure login process and strong encryption are key elements in helping to prevent anyone from obtaining access to census information.

To protect the security of personal information on the Internet, Statistics Canada incorporated the following safeguards:

Confidentiality of completed questionnaires

Stringent instructions and procedures have been implemented to ensure that confidentiality of census data (including the completed questionnaires) is maintained at all times. This requirement extends to all secure locations, including the private residences of employees.

All employees are sworn to secrecy when they are hired. The Statistics Act states that employees are liable to fines of up to $1,000 and/or jail terms of up to six months if they reveal personal information.

Protection de votre vie privée

Protection de votre vie privée

Statistique Canada accorde la plus grande importance à la protection de votre vie privée ainsi qu’au maintien de la confidentialité et de la sécurité des questionnaires remplis. Vos réponses sont recueillies en vertu de la Loi sur la statistique et demeurent strictement confidentielles.

Seuls les employés de Statistique Canada qui ont besoin de voir les questionnaires remplis et dont les tâches exigent qu’ils travaillent avec ces questionnaires ont accès à ceux-ci. De plus, tous les employés sont assujettis aux dispositions de la Loi sur la statistique en matière de confidentialité. Tous les employés de Statistique Canada prêtent un serment de discrétion. Ce serment est prêté à vie et demeure valide même une fois leur emploi terminé.

Autre que Statistique Canada, personne n’a accès aux renseignements individuels obtenus dans le cadre du recensement. Les entrepreneurs privés n’ont pas accès aux données confidentielles, et aucun renseignement pouvant servir à identifier les répondants ne sera communiqué à d’autres ministères ou organismes.

Sécurité du questionnaire en ligne

Statistique Canada accorde une grande importance à la protection des renseignements confidentiels fournis en ligne. Un processus de connexion sécurisée et une puissante méthode de cryptage sont des éléments clés pour empêcher quiconque d’y avoir accès.

Pour protéger la sécurité des renseignements personnels sur Internet, Statistique Canada a intégré les mesures de protection suivantes :

Confidentialité des questionnaires remplis

Des instructions et des procédures rigoureuses ont été mises en œuvre pour assurer la confidentialité des données du recensement (y compris les questionnaires remplis) en tout temps. Cette exigence s’applique à tous les emplacements sécurisés, y compris les résidences privées des employés.

Tous les employés prêtent un serment de discrétion lorsqu’ils sont embauchés. La Loi sur la statistique prévoit que les employés sont passibles d’une amende maximale de 1 000 $ et/ou d’une peine d’emprisonnement maximale de six mois s’ils révèlent des renseignements personnels.